NEW ALBUM “Fluttarn”

released November 6, 2015 on Vaggimal/Trovarobato (Audioglobe)

“Fluttarn”, C+C=Maxigross’ second full-length album, is the conclusion of a trilogy of records recorded in their own Vaggimal Studios in the village of Vaggimal, outside Verona, a settlement with 114 inhabitants located 732 metres above sea level, which follows their first EP “Singar” (“To sing”, in Cimbrian), in 2011, and their first album “Ruvain” (“To make noise”), in 2013.
The choice of using titles in Cimbrian, a germanic language imported to the Lessinia hills between Verona, Trento and Vicenzo in medieval times by germanic settlers, is an homage to their magical and unknown land. In Lessinia, this language is now only known and spoken by few dozens of individuals.

C+C=Maxigross began their adventures in 2008, as a group of friends recording folk songs on a mountaintop house, evolving from there into a collective that is an essential presence in the psychedelic folk scene, both in Italy and abroad. Their music has brought them to perform and record with great international artists, including Miles Cooper Seaton (Akron/Family), Martin Hagfors (HGH, Jaga Jazzist, Motorpsycho), Marco Fasolo (Jennifer Gentle) and Håkon Gebhardt (Motorpsycho).

“Fluttarn” is the culmination of these years spent on the road in Europe and beyond, playing over 200 concerts in all varieties of venues including renowned festivals such as Primavera Sound, Fusion Festival, Eurosonic, Reeperbahn, CMJ New York, Arezzo Wave and many more. Since the release of their previous album, “Ruvain”, in April 2013, the band has toured constantly for a year and a half performing over 120 live shows.

In November 2014, they published a special EP titled “An Instantaneous Journey with Martin Hagfors”, where the collective performed new versions of the Norwegian artist’s songs and subsequently toured with him throughout all of Italy. In December 2014 they retreated to their mountain home to finally work on a followup album to “Ruvain”. The result of these long sessions was a wealth of material which are a condensation of all the experiences the band went through over these past years of constant live performances. This enormous recorded output was selected and filtered into the ten tracks you can hear in this album.
released November 6, 2015

Fluttarn is written, played and produced by C+C=Maxigross.

C+C=Maxigross in this album are:
Francesco Ambrosini, Filippo Brugnoli, Niccolò Cruciani, Tobia Poltronieri

With Marco Fasolo (vocals on track 2), Martin Hagfors (vocals on track 9), Miles Cooper Seaton (guitars and drones on track 3, 8, 9), Håkon Gebhardt (banjo on track 7), Kjell Olav Karlsen Martinsen (steel guitar on track 7), Alice Sofia Molesini & Giulia Vallisari (vocals on track 1 & 10).

This record wouldn’t exist without:
our families, our friends, Miles Cooper Seaton, Marco Fasolo, Martin Hagfors, Carlotta Favretto, Mattia Tramonti, Stefano Saccomani, Gianluca Giusti, Damiano Miceli, Robin Luis Fernandez, Andrea Lodi, Michele Orvieti and the guys at Sfera Cubica, Anita Richelli and the guys at Paper & Iron, Andrea Sbaragli, Fabio Vergani and the guys at A Buzz Supreme, Ana Blagojevic, Anita Poltronieri, Mattia Pasquali, Riccardo Orlandi, Ermanno Menini, Samuele Tezza, Alessandro Anderloni, Gabriella Palatini, Maria Comunian, Guido Biondi, Silvia Di Natale, Cru On Space, Contrada Lorì, Hardcobaleno, Jenny Penny Full, Schneider Nur, Jennifer Gentle, Grimoon, Silva Cantele, Håkon Gebhardt, Kjell Olav Karlsen Martinsen, Alice Sofia Molesini, Giulia Vallisari, Joe Westerlund, Mark Fry, The Pussywarmers, Jacopo Incani, Jerry and the Deads, Kendrick Lamar, Dumbo Gets Mad, Andrea Lovato & I Bonatti, Lessinia Psych Fest, Balera Veronetta & Nano staff, Interzona, Sotterranei, Bebop Schallplatten family, Maik, Steffi and Freak Valley Festival, MÜ, Highline Meeting Monte Piana, Salumificio Benedetti, Pizzeria Lumière, Osteria da Morandìn. Thank you so much.

This record is dedicated to Roberto Rizzini.

Recorded and mixed by Francesco Ambrosini at Vaggimal Studios (Sant’Anna d’Alfaedo, Italy) between december 2014 and august 2015. Mastered by Samuele Tezza and Francesco Ambrosini at Sample Studio (Pescantina, Italy).

Artwork by Anita Poltronieri. Photos by Ana Blagojevic.


Band: cpiucmassagross@gmail.com

Vaggimal Records www.vaggimal.cominfo@vaggimal.com
Trovarobato www.trovarobato.comstaff@trovarobato.com

Booking (Italy) & Mgmt: Gianluca Giusti gianluca@modernista.org

Booking (Europe): Anita Richelli anitar@paperandironbooking.com

Press & Publishing (Italy): Andrea Sbaragli andrea@abuzzsupreme.it

BIO (updated to november 2015)

The adventure of the psychedelic collective C+C=Maxigross began in 2009, when the band decided to record in a house on the mountains. They put together a group of songs they wrote with friends, during evenings spent around the fire or walking through Lessinia’s woods. When the EP “Singar” came out they never expected that their name would spread from blog to blog, magazine to magazine. This success allowed them to play everywhere in Italy, from the North to the South. In 2012 they won the Arezzo Wave, one of the main Italian music festivals, and eventually landed in the United States for a mini­tour with one stop at the CMJ Music Marathon in New York.

In April 2013 they recorded their first album “Ruvain” (Vaggimal/Audioglobe), with some songs produces and recorded analogically on a 8 tracks tape recorder by Marco Fasolo (Jennifer Gentle) and some others recorded live by the band itself in their studio on the mountains, during long nocturnal jam sessions.

“Ruvain”, a word that in an ancient language called “cimbro” means “to make noise”, was acclaimed by critic and won the PIMI price for the best self-produced album, at MEI, the meeting of Italian independent labels, and allowed them to play for a year and a half with no breaks. Highlights of this tour were several international festivals like Primavera Sound 2014 in Barcelona, Eurosonic in Groningen (NL), Reeperbahn and Fusion Festival in Germany.

In 2014 they made a special tour with the Norwegian musician Martin Hagfors (HGH, ex Home Groan), with whom they recorded and EP. The project was called: “An Instantaneous Journey with Martin Hagfors & C+C=Maxigross”.

Since 2014 they organize every summer the Lessinia Psych Fest, International Festival of Folk and Psychedelic Folk, who hosted on the mountains around Verona, artists like Jennifer Gentle, Miles Cooper Seaton (Akron/Family), IOSONOUNCANE, The Pussywarmers, Hobocombo and many more.

In november 2015 they’ve released their second official album “Fluttarn” (that in Cimbrian means “to flutter, to fly about, to fly away”) as a conclusion of a trilogy of records recorded in their own Vaggimal Studios in the village of Vaggimal, outside Verona, a settlement with 114 inhabitants located 732 metres above sea level. “Fluttarn” features artists like Miles Cooper Seaton (Akron/Family), Martin Hagfors (HGH), Marco Fasolo (Jennifer Gentle) and Håkon Gebhardt (Motorpsycho).

They are currently working on a special album entirely recorded with Miles Cooper Seaton (Akron/Family) & Joe Westerlund (Megafaun/Grandma Sparrow/Califone).

The music of C+C=Maxigross was often described as psychedelic folk, a word that good defines their beginnings, when the sound was mainly acoustic and enriched by vocal harmonies and simple arrangements, like traditional songs from the mountains. Now that C+C=Maxigross became a powerful live band, the electric and improvisation parts turned fundamental also during the composition process and the new songs are more reminiscent of Grateful Dead and Crazy Horse, and always devoted to the craziness of Os Mutantes.